DeValles School Building Committee Meeting Minutes i

Meeting Date: May 13, 2022, 3:00 - 3:30 PM

Location: Zoom Meeting

Reported: Andrew O'Leary, New Bedford Public Schools

Attendees:

Andrew O'Leary, Assistant Superintendent of Finance & Operations

Barry Rabinovitch, School Project Manager

Bruce Oliveira, School Committee Member and Chair

Daniel Pallota, P-Three, Inc.

Kevin Mello, Union President

Ryan Pereira, City Council Member

Al Oliveira, Director of Facilities

Molly Gilfeather, Purchasing Director

Tara Montembault, DeValles School Principal

Justine Santos, Congdon School Principal

Jennifer Carloni, Director of City Planning

Darcie Aungst, Curriculum Data & Assessment Manager for Elementary

Mr. Bruce Oliveira called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM.

Mr. Pallota presented the Owner's Project Manager Update. Mr. Pallota introduced the 8 modules of the Massachusetts School Building Authority (MSBA), which explain how to do a project within the MSBA. Mr. Pallota explained the 8 modules and provided a brief overview of steps taken in each module.

The MSBA Designer Selection Panel is coming up on June 2, 2022. The Designer will be selected on September 13, 2022.

Dr. Rabinovitch was appointed to be the main point of contact representing New Bedford.

The City of New Bedford can advertise the Request For Services (RFS) on June 27, 2022.

Dr. Rabinovitch presented the next steps in the MSBA process and the communication process with the Committee.

Mr. Pallota presented the Designer RFS.

Mr. Bruce Oliveira moved to approve the Designer RFS to submit to the MSBA. Voted unanimously on a motion by Dr. Rabinovitch and seconded by Mr. Oliveira to approve.

Mr. O'Leary motioned to nominate Mr. Pereira as Vice Chair of the School Building Committee, seconded by Dr. Rabinovitch, and approved unanimously approved by voice vote.

Three participants are required for the Designer Panel. Mr. Bruce Oliveira and Ms. Gilfeather asked to be panel members. Following the meeting, Mr. O'Leary was contacted by Ms. Darcie Aungst who nominated Ms. Tara Montebault to be the third panel member. Mr. Al Oliveira will serve as a backup person for the Designer Panel.

Dr. Rabinovitch moved to adjourn the meeting at 3:30 PM, seconded by Mr. B. Oliveira, and approved unanimously by voice vote.

Andrew B. O'Leary,

Assistant Superintendent of Finance & Operations

¹ The **Open Meeting Law** requires public bodies to create and approve minutes in a timely manner. A "timely manner" is considered to be within the next three public body meetings or 30 days from the date of the meeting, whichever is later, unless the public body can show good cause for further delay